Slow cooker baked beans

I had a stab at cooking baked beans in the slow cooker again today, the result was ok but not amazing. I think I have being trying my hand at recipes now that when I go wayward and start making up my own stuff, just being ‘ok’ isnt enough.

The background recipe for this one came from Craig Flinn’s recipe in his book “Fresh & Local“,  which I have made before, but this time I mixed it up a bit. For example where the recipe calls for smoked ham hocks, I only had plain ham hocks so to give it a little kick and a bit of a different flavour I added some adobo chillies. It now has plenty of kick but not really much in the way of depth of flavour.

I think that the real problem for me, plenty spice but not enough depth. At least the cornbread is good…….

Tomorrow I am sticking with the slow cooker but trying my hand at a lamb curry, I’ll let you know how it goes.

 

0 Responses to “Slow cooker baked beans”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

