Red Onion Relish Recipe

Red Onion Relish Recipe – Say that 10x over and really fast!

relish onion red

Looking to add a little bit ‘more’ to dinner tonight (a pretty simple affair of bangers and mash) I decided I’d try and do something to go along side.  I optioned for a BBC Good Food recipe for red onion relish;

  • 2 Red onions (sliced)
  • 50g butter
  • 1tbsp of brown sugar (not the rolling stones kind)
  • 1tbsp of red wine vinegar

The recipe calls for ‘good quality red wine vinegar’ I used what I had in the cupboard its quality is unknown……

Melt the butter, add the onions, a few minutes later add the sugar and vinegar, simmer for 20 minutes stirring frequently to ensure the sugar doesn’t burn and enjoy. Easy enough.

Having just made this though, I would suggest a little longer on the cooking time, a really wanted a deep red so left it on longer and it did get slightly darker, and next time (its so easy there will be a next time) I think I would be a bit more generous with the vinegar.

http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/1415637/red-onion-relish

2 Responses to “Red Onion Relish Recipe”


  1. 1 Jack November 1, 2011 at 3:32 pm

    I am doing this. It looks lush … I’m a sucker for relishes. I put it on whatever I can – literally – would have it on toast if I could get away with it more often!

  2. 2 thethoughtherder November 2, 2011 at 7:04 am

    The recipe reckons it’d go well with home made burgers, so thats on the cards next time I make it, because I think it definitely would.


Leave a Reply

