So, what now?

I think I’m a bit old for a quarter life crisis and a bit young for a mid life crisis, but after working a silly amount of hours yesterday non stop (22 if you’re interested) I’m starting to think I need to step back take a breath and revaluate my situation.

I’m not going on a crazy soul searching mission, and I don’t expect to jack it all in and go live in a commune in the woods, but a while back now I left nearly everything behind with not a lot other than the women I love and off we set on an adventure in a new country. We had ambitions of doing more with our lives than we would have done if we’d just continued on our career paths where we were. Now I just seem to be working loads, primarily just so I can buy more ‘stuff’.

I didnt really think I was the ‘stuff buying’ type.

Dont get me wrong I love my surround sound system, cranking it up with new tunes (Broken Bells is the latest random purchase) or even better with a good movie blaring out, but I’m not convinced that dialling the volume up to 11 was really the height of the adventure I imagined. I think deep down the slap in the face that was being laid off in 2008 has left me with a fear that I need to work hard and attain some sort of financial security, which is sensible. But where is the end?

I’m not fussed about being different or standing out from the crowd, I’m just fussed for being happy and I think I’m having a wee crisis of conscious that I need to revaluate  what creates that happiness for me, and not necessarily tow the party line of 2 cars in the garage and a freshly mowed lawn. The last 2 years have just whizzed by, literally, I fell like things are just picking up pace and passing me by. Whilst I’m not looking for a complete stand still I think a bit of a slower pace is in order while I take stock.

 

3 Responses to “So, what now?”


  1. 1 Jack October 6, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Sounds like something I can relate to. You have more or less whatever you want (within reason, of course – nowt stupid and all that) and don’t have to save long to get toys if you decide you want them today and not tomorrow.

    No doubt you eat well and have decent food. Decent clothes. Nice and modest home.

    But something is missing, right? Keep away from new parents, unless you are impervious to broody tenancies (something I never thought would happen to me).

    Then again, I could have completely missed the mark … 🙂

  2. 2 thethoughtherder October 11, 2011 at 12:32 am

    Not far off! To be honest that was typed on another long day, which was one of many this year away from home. I think if I did have any sprogs running about under my feet it would only make matters worse.

    I did however get home yesterday and now feel better about life, however there is no escaping the under lying points I typed. Maybe a bit more home time will help things sort themselves out.

  3. 3 Jack October 11, 2011 at 2:15 pm

    Frightening really, that we can worry about such trivial matters and barely be considered middle-class, eh?


Leave a Reply

