Dr Pepper ribs recipe

My follow up food post after the ‘meh’ korma is a somewhat more successful stab at some BBQ ribs in a Dr Pepper marinade.  I was a little unsure as to whether or not I’d give theses a go but them come highly recommended in the September issue of the BBC’s Olive magazine.

Although time consuming, the ingredient list is short and the effort is minimal. You will need;

  • Approximately 1.5kg of pork ribs
  • 1.5 liters of Dr Pepper 
  • 2 Star anise
  • 8 Whole allspice berries

Bung that lot into a roasting pan, making sure the ribs are fleshy side down, and cover tightly with foil.

Now put them in apre heated oven at the low temp of 150 degrees c for 2 hours. This is the perfect time to go drink beer.

Between beers and during the 2 hour window you need to get the glaze ready, you’ll need;

  • A further 200 ml of Dr Pepper
  • 6 tbsp of soft brown sugar
  • 6 tbsp of tomato ketchup
  • 1.5 tbsp of Dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce
  • 3 tbsp of soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp of ground allspice

Put that lot in a pan and simmer for a while, until they are thick and syrupy.  This took longer than I was expecting so I’d aim to have at least 30 mins of time on the stove so you can keep it on a gentle heat rather than too hot and risk burning it and ruining the flavour as you rush to get it ready of the ribs.

Have you BBQ ready and take the ribs from the roasting tin, leaving the juices behind and place fleshy side up and baste with the glaze. Roast for 30 mins, adding more glaze halfway through.

If you don’t have a BBQ you could finish them off in the oven, just make sure and drain the liquid and turn the oven up to 200 degrees c.

I served mine up with a summery potato salad, and they were brilliant.

5 Responses to “Dr Pepper ribs recipe”


  1. 1 bruno August 15, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    May i just say the membrane should be pulled as it prevents and seasoning/flavoring/smoke to penetrate the meat during cooking process.

  2. 2 Julie August 15, 2011 at 2:49 pm

    Looks delicious! I’ll have to give them a try. Love Olive mag!

  3. 3 thethoughtherder August 15, 2011 at 9:57 pm

    @ Bruno, good to know, I’ll be making these again in the next few weeks to serve to friends so I’ll certainly follow the advice.

    @Julie, the pics don’t do the end result justice, I think I can freely blame the photographer as it was me. I used to buy Olive all the time when I lived in the UK, now I just make do with grabbing a copy when I’m back there to bring back to Canada.


  1. 1 Rib-tickingly good | saffronbunny Trackback on August 16, 2011 at 7:16 am
  2. 2 Catch up… « The thoughtherder’s Blog Trackback on September 13, 2011 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

