Roast Pork & Crackling

Having been an ex pat now for 3 years one of the British things I have been unable to recreate in North America is a good portion of crackling when roasting pork. This is mainly because finding a cut of pork that has enough fat still on there has been difficult.  When I did spot a piece in the butcher, it had to be bought.

I am happy to say that I managed to cook up some crackling worthy of a mention on the 6 o’clock news. To quote Felecity Cloake it was exactly like it should be and ‘a blistered top, as dry and crunchy as an autumn leaf, hiding a layer of yielding creamy fat beneath’.

Felicity’s blog post in the Guardian discusses crackling in a bit more detail ( well a lot more detail actually) and this Jamie Oliver recipe I used as a bit of a guide too. However I really did a bit of a mix of different methods to get my end result.

I could actually feel my arteries tighten as I chowed down so perhaps I’ll wait another 3 years before I do it again.

crackle rind

0 Responses to “Roast Pork & Crackling”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

