Garden Grub (not the good kind)

While I have started putting in the raised beds I blogged about last time they aren’t full off top spoil yet. I got them built quick enough but the weather wasn’t great so I didn’t  move them from the garage till Tuesday, I was going to do a blow by blow picture blog of putting them together but being that I was winging it I decided that instead I’d just concentrate on the building.

While preparing the area that the beds were going I turn find a few creatures lurking beneath the surface hiding form the cold, the award for ugliest goes to this guy.

2 Responses to “Garden Grub (not the good kind)”


  1. 1 pobept March 31, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    Ugly little critter..
    A few of these guy’s will cause you little ‘real’ problems, but if you have a large number of these bad guy’s you may be forced into chemical warfare to eliminate them or at least thin them out to a manageable number.

    They will and do feed on almost any roots they can find from asparagus to zucchini.

    Happy gardening.

  2. 2 thethoughtherder April 1, 2011 at 6:07 pm

    Hmm, good to know. As this is my first year venturing into growing my own grub (peering over the shoulders of my parents growing up aside)the more information I have the better.

    The aim is to be as un reliant as possible on chemicals but thats because I want everything to be ‘in house’ and I don’t want to open up a chemical lab, my compost heap will supply the goodness, but it wont help with the pest control.


Leave a Reply

