Spring cleaning takes on a whole new meaning

Although I still feel winter every time I go outside, its fair to say that it’s on its way out.  The sight of a few bulbs popping up shoots highlight that warmer, lighter days are on their way.  Normally I take the concept of ‘Spring cleaning’ with a pinch of salt, I’ve lived in apartments for that many years that shy of finding a semi finished bottle of booze tucked in the back of a cupboard, forgotten from some long since past Christmas party there isn’t a lot more to do than any other day of the week.

Not this year.

Last summer I became a home owner for the first time, and I have to find the time to sort my garden too. Simple in theory but having never had a garden before it’s a lot of planning and not a lot of action so far.  The main aspect I want to tackle?  Veg patch. With nothing in the store as good as home-grown for taste and current news reports constantly telling me that food prices will take a sharp rise this year, it seems now is the time to start producing some of my own.  I have cleared part of the area, and I have my plans drawn up and whats pictured below should become a hotspot of vegetable goodness in the weeks to come.

 

 

2 Responses to “Spring cleaning takes on a whole new meaning”


  1. 1 Jack March 15, 2011 at 10:17 am

    Grow for it! (did you see what I did there?)

    I’m growing sunflowers for the summer, and after barely 10 days, the shoots I have are alarmingly in an abundance and good sizes.

    Miracle Grow is fantastic!

  2. 2 thethoughtherder March 17, 2011 at 12:23 am

    Nicely done. Sunflowers are in the list too, although my first job is to get the veg patch build and organise a compost.


Leave a Reply

