Firefox the most popular browser in EU

I dont generally use Firefox, no particular reason, I just like to use Chrome on my work PC and I use Safari on my Mac.  My girlfriend however always installs Firefox on any computer that she gets and raves about its superiority.  Seems she’s not alone as Firefox has now become the most popular browser in the EU as shown by the handy little graph below.

It would appear though that its not through an increased up take of Firefox from the public, more because of an exodus from Internet Explorer.

“This is the first time that IE has been dethroned from the number one spot in a major territory,” commented Aodhan Cullen, CEO, StatCounter. “This appears to be happening because Google’s Chrome is stealing share from Internet Explorer while Firefox is mainly maintaining its existing share.”

I’ll resist the urge to jump on the bandwagon for now, mainly because I really like Chrome but I think I may switch up from Safari for a while, its not a bad browser but maybe I could do better.

More info on the story here

 

2 Responses to “Firefox the most popular browser in EU”


  1. 1 Ben January 5, 2011 at 12:10 am

    I’m a Firefox User, though I have also tried using chrome and it is also a pretty good browser.

    I’m on the latest Beta of Firefox 4 now, and it seems fast (at least compared to FF3, I haven’t compared it to Chrome recently). I like FF mainly for the add-ons, though Chrome seems to be catching up in this regard too.

  2. 2 thethoughtherder January 5, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    I think that the more I think about this the more I think I should try Firefox. Like many of the masses who stick with IE because it pre installed on their PC, I just stick with Safari as it came with my Mac. I’ll wait till I get home from this trip though so I can gauge how much I like it on a decent internet connection, and not the near dial up speeds I’m stuck with at the moment.


Leave a Reply

