Chemical Brothers album ‘Further” review

Well over due for a new album in my life I optioned for the latest in a line of 7 studio albums from The Chemical Brothers “Further”.

I have been a Chemical Brothers fan for a long while, I cant say I was listening to them when their first album “Exit Planet Dust” was released back in 1995 but “Dig Your Own Hole” picked up shortly after its release was a favourite of mine for a long time, and truth be told probably still is.

So how do I feel about “Further”?  I thinks its very impressive, a tried and tested recipe of techno textures and mind-tilting psychedelia mixed up in a way that only Tom Rowlands and Ed Simons know how. My track of choice is number 2, Escape Velocity, nearly 12 minutes long and large chunks of that time are spent building and building waiting for the beat to drop and release a sense of euphoria that can only really be brought with this type of music and willingness to dance like a mad man and enjoy yourself. For me it definitely has undertones of The Who’s Bubba O’Reilly, which as one of my most loved Who tracks probably influences my choice here.

The albums content may not enough to take the number one spot in the thoughherders list of Chemical Brothers albums, but its certainly worth every penny of the itunes download price. I do think that I missed a beat in not downloading the iTunes pass version with accompanying videos, having seen the Chemical Brothers live at festivals I’m sure the visuals would be impressive but my current internet set up while out of country and on the road means it took over and hour just to download the audio.

My present situation also means I am listening to the album through my mac/Ipod and my muchocheapo headphones which I bought off eBay, I am really looking forward to getting this blasting through my stereo back home, as this is truly an album worth turning up to 11.

1 Response to “Chemical Brothers album ‘Further” review”



  1. 1 Crappy fake headphones « The thoughtherder’s Blog Trackback on December 27, 2010 at 5:09 pm

Leave a Reply

