From Xbox to PS3

When my Xbox broke for the 3rd time I decided that I needed to ramp up my home media set up and add a PS3.  This is something I had been looking to do for a while, the lack of a Blu Ray player with the Xbox and the collapse of HD DVD I was missing the ability to watch disk based movies.  I do stream most of the movies I watch via Netflix or previously through Xbox marketplace but I still like the ability to buy DVD’s and now Blu Rays.

The other thing is that being that I don’t have cable TV, I either play games, watch movies, or TV box sets, and once the Xbox went there was a void that needed filled.  I know what you’re thinking I should get my fat ass outside and get away from the screen but as winter is rolling in walking my dog will keep me outside plenty without thinking about spending more time than that in the negative degrees Celsius. But now I have a PS3 and my Xbox (under warranty) has been fixed and returned to me.

So what to play?

In the red corner for the Xbox is Halo reach, I played the other Halo carnations to death, with the exception of ODST, but to be honest I haven’t really been taken in by Reach as much as I thought I would.  It’s a good game, a solid game, but I think having played so much Modern Warfare in between titles I don’t know if I don’t prefer that for the online multiplayer.

In the blue corner for PS3 is Modnation racers, the last racing game I played was Forza 2 on the Xbox which I enjoyed but this is nothing like Forza.  Its more like Mario Kart games of previous years, and I loved those games.  I think that in some respects MNR is something like what we could have expected this to be the game they would have created if they had the console that could support it. I can’t say that its better than Mario Kart, that would be like trying to compare Star Wars a new hope with revenge of the Sith, different eras different yard stick to measure its worth.

I think the bottom line is that I’m a console whore and will play whatever when ever and have no allegiance to either, but if the Xbox breaks again and isn’t covered by the warranty I won’t be replacing it.

 

2 Responses to “From Xbox to PS3”


  1. 1 Jack November 19, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    Lego Batman. Win.

    Seriously – it’s very good 🙂 and other-half friendly too.

    Modern Warfare 1 is in my Xbox (not played for weeks though) with another bunch of old games to get to. Sigh. Still not played Bioshock. Or Arkham Asylum. Or finished FO3 …

  2. 2 thethoughtherder November 19, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    I did play lego star wars on the DS last year which was strangely addictive, I’m hearing good things about FO3 so it might be on the cards for some nights hiding form winter.


Leave a Reply

