Dining in Calgary: Avenue Diner

Another of Calgary’ s eateries I tried whilst in the city was Avenue Diner, a great little place that has a fantastic breakfast menu, however their lunches (such as the mac & cheese the girl beside us was eating) look incredible too. We stumbled across it having only been in the city an hour or so whilst walking down…. and getting grumpy from lack of food and coffee.

I had the ‘Ultimate Egg Sandwich’ which as I have never had a better egg sandwich actually lives up to its name. The toasted sandwich comes with basil butter spread thickly over each of the slices which I think is the secret to its awesomeness.

They also have flyers highlighting the fact that the ingredients are locally and ethically sourced meaning that I can eat there and watch Food Inc without feeling like a pawn in the food industry’s game.

The only downside is that the diner only has one co-ed bathroom, which isn’t bad in itself but becomes problematic when the lock doesn’t seem to work properly, I was caught mid pee with the door flying open my another female customer in the diner, slightly embarrassing but at least I don’t live here full time and I’m unlikely to ever see here again, the diner though, I wish I could see on a regular basis.

5 Stars

We did end up going back here for a second breakfast as it was that good, had to stand in line the second time but again it was definitely worth it, the egg bennys are fantastic.

0 Responses to “Dining in Calgary: Avenue Diner”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

