Dining in Calgary; The SIlver Dragon

Part of my road trip saw me take in a few nights in Calgary.  First time I have ever been there and with a new city comes the chance to try out new restaurants. I’ll try and put up a short review of all the good ones in case you should ever find yourself in in Alberta’s premier city and feel a bit peckish.

First up (although not the first we ate at) is The Silver Dragon on 3 Avenue Southeast

We were there on a Thursday evening which was lucky as we have since found out that come the weekend the line ups can be quite long leaving you waiting for a table downstairs whilst being teased by the oriental aromas from upstairs. The basis of the restaurant is a large square room with a simple but well kept decor, lots of large tables suggest that this is a place used to accommodating large groups.

We started with a shared portion of pot stickers, really tasty but perhaps a wee bit more seasoning for my salt hungry palate that night, glad we got them to share though as they were some of the largest I’ve seen and the portion size was 8.  We followed on with the spicy shredded pork, the crispy beef and a portion of special fried rice. The only drawback of the entire evening was that the waiter (who otherwise was great through out) and I had a bit of a communication breakdown on the beer front.

The Silver Dragon offers amongst its beer choice 4 Chinese import beers, I asked the waiter which was best and pointed to them on the menu, he said he wasn’t sure and would just pick one out for me. Sounded like a good plan to me except he promptly brought me a bottle of Heineken.  In his defense its an import beer and I didn’t specify of the imports I wanted Chinese, how hum I had a Tso Tsang for the second which went well with the spicy entrees.

The best part was that for the drinks, food and tax for two I was only $52.  Outstanding price for great food and good service, if it was in my town I’d be a regular for sure.

0 Responses to “Dining in Calgary; The SIlver Dragon”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

