Photography 101 Dont forget the zoom lens

I’ve had some friends in town and I’ve been out and about a fair bit showing them the sights and enjoying the good spell of weather. I did the same monster hike that I did last summer with them, it was slightly easier this time as it was a cooler day, although it was clear at the top so the views were amazing again.

I also took them on a far easier hike to a stunning lake, however the previous day (on the monster hike) I had taken all my camera gear and decided I didn’t need the extra weight of a zoom lens.

Idiot.

While still on the loggers road driving to the trail head we spotted a mama bear and her 2 cubs, no amount of post picture cropping can bring the photos up to the level they would have been if I had just sensible enough to take the zoom.

5 Responses to “Photography 101 Dont forget the zoom lens”


  1. 1 mollyheart May 14, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    Aw, never mind. I’ve done that plenty of times. I missed out on a load of fire fighters putting out a blaze on the mountain a little while ago, because I’d taken the tripod out of my bag. I decided spare shoes and other bits and pieces would be more appropriate. Silly.

  2. 2 thethoughtherder May 16, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Yeah, I wasn’t too happy with myself, but I have a couple of road trips in the next few weeks and I’ll be taking ALL my gear in the hope I don’t miss out again.

  3. 3 mollyheart May 26, 2010 at 11:42 pm

    🙂 Have fun. Let me know when you post the pictures – I have an addiction to living vicariously through trip-takers. As such.

  4. 4 thethoughtherder May 27, 2010 at 6:34 am

    Funnily enough my first pics have now gone up, just a quick selection my main road trip starts at the weekend and will give me a week to hopefully get some great landscapes.


  1. 1 A tale of two road trips….. « The thoughtherder’s Blog Trackback on May 27, 2010 at 6:36 am

Leave a Reply

