Always listen to your girlfriend

As previously posted I’m about to have a t-shirt cull to get rid of a bunch of old, unwanted, never worn anymore t-shirts. It may seem slightly ironic that I would be buying myself new t-shirts, but I was.  I need some for the gym/hiking (complete with wicking tech) so its not like the old ones could suffice, and a pet hate of mine is t-shirts with the neck all stretched out.

Anyways whilst buying one from the sale rack the other day (savvy shopper me!) I opted to not bother trying it on as it looked fine.  A brief conversation with my girlfriend followed;

Aren’t you trying it on?”

“Nope”

“If it doenst fit you cant bring it back as its final sale.  You should try it on.”

“Nah, I’m not fussed.  It’ll be fine”

“If it doesn’t fit then it will be a waste of money.  You should try it on”

“Its a t-shirt, looks fine”

*Raised eyebrows from girlfriend*

“Ok I’ll try it on”

Moments later I was in the fitting room staring in disbelief as the t-shirt that I thought would fit fine managed to highlight beyond belief my beer gut that I didn’t realize had grown to such embarrassing proportions. Sheepishly I asked for a larger size, paid the sales clerk and headed straight to the gym to but the new tshirt to work and wage war on the beer belly.

2 Responses to “Always listen to your girlfriend”


  1. 1 Jay April 30, 2010 at 2:37 am

    Give yourself a bit of credit. One size varies from maker to maker; depending on what, my shirt size can go from medium to extra large. So yeah, listen to her. 🙂

  2. 2 thethoughtherder April 30, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Yep, lesson learnt…..

    I concede in the world of shopping I need to listen more and follow my instincts less.


Leave a Reply

