Gas Station blues

The town I live in is blessed with just the one gas station.   Not a huge drama you’d think but today the lack of other options was a headache.  Leaving work for the drive home I knew that the gas was low but figured as the light wasnt on yet I could probably just get away with waiting till I picked my girlfriend up later on as she works close to the gas station and we live at the total other end of town.  Being a tourist town 4-6pm (when I’m leaving work) the traffic heading to the gas station is chaos and best avoided.

Thing is when I stopped on the way home to pick up a few bits and bobs for dinner the dreaded gas light came on when I started the car back up.  Grudgingly I took the decision to head to the gas station and fill up now rather than risk running out in the middle of the night when I went to pick up my girlfriend. 25mins into what should be a 10 minute drive, the light goes out again.  WTF.  Decides maybe it doesn’t need gas that bad anyway.  Already committed I headed to the gas station anyway, only to find the prices have gone up.

Bugger.

3 Responses to “Gas Station blues”


  1. 1 Jack March 15, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    This is Murphy’s law at its finest. But rest assured, fuel is still a mile away from UK prices, eh?

  2. 2 thethoughtherder March 21, 2010 at 4:39 am

    Yeah, happily ahead in that one for the moment at least, but as the exchange rate shakes, who knows how long that will last!


  1. 1 You know what sucks? « The thoughtherder’s Blog Trackback on March 28, 2010 at 1:56 am

Leave a Reply

