Luger death makes prime time viewing

Yesterday lunch time I was at he deli counter at the local supermarket when the server mentioned that one of the Olympic athletes competing in the luge had died during a practice run.  Its a pretty small town, although currently on the world radar, its still a small town at heart.  To hear the news in a shop on a lunch break is not really that surprising, but I was a bit surprised ta the media coverage that followed.

Not that the death garnered so much coverage, more the fact that they optioned to show his death on  the news.

Repeatedly.

The guy wasnt even cold yet.   Doesnt sit right with me, I didn’t know the guy but I think that if it had been a friend of mine I would have been livid.  At a later date in reflection I could see the justification, but as it stands it seems TV networks rushed to bring ‘the shocking footage’ to viewers.

Not cool.

2 Responses to “Luger death makes prime time viewing”


  1. 1 Ted Leach February 14, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    While the footage of this accident is really graphic, it’s hard to see how the networks could have told the story of this tragedy without it. Luge isn’t exactly on the list of “America’s Most Well-Known Sports.”

    That said, the big issue for me now is that they haven’t explained their decision making. Makes me fear they’re just hoping the controversy will go away and everyone will get in the spirit of the games…

  2. 2 thethoughtherder February 14, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    I see your point, I do however have a gut feeling that the media powers that be opted to show the footage for shock value rather than to educate the viewers on luge. There must be reams of luge crash stock footage that doesn’t involve a fatality from a couple of hours previous.

    I’m sure a devils advocate could point the finger at dumbing down of media through censorship if news stations refused to show it, my take however is that it doesn’t add real value at a cost of trivializing something important through a ratings quest.


Leave a Reply

