“I told you we should have gone to the beach”

“Dead Snow” turned out to be worth a watch even though it did confirm to me that horror, even when its tounge in cheek, isnt really my movie genre of choice.   I figure its best to keep dipping my toes into different pools of movie though so I dont get too 1 dimensional.

I think Norwegian horror definitely counts as such even if I watched it when it had already been accepted into the main stream.  The movie itself centres around a group of 20 somethings who go on vacation in the mountains to an area unbeknown to them with a dark history from the second world war.

Cue Nazi zombies on the rampage and a fight for survival.

There are blatantly undertones of “Evil Dead“, “Shaun of the Dead” and even a touch of “Pirates of the Caribbean” but the movie has its won unique take on things, never takes itself too seriously and has a few dead pan comedy lines such as the announcement by one of the party “I told you we should have gone to the beach” when the depth of their situation had been realized.

0 Responses to ““I told you we should have gone to the beach””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

