Movies of 2009

Last year I decided that I would keep tabs on the amount of new movies I watched over the 12 months of 2009.   I guess this originally came from the idea that this blog (born in 2009) would play host to movie reviews as the year went on.  Some reviews were posted some were not, those that weren’t largely stayed in the background as the movie was too bland to warrant the effort of typing, or sometimes it was because I simply had something more interesting to blog about.

Bizarrely no post of mine has seen more visitors than the review I wrote for The International. Maybe there is a lack of blog reviews for it?

In total I watched 101 new movies, I didn’t bother keeping tabs on the ones I had watched before as it seemed a little pointless, all I would gain would be the disturbing truth as to how much time I spend engrossed in the world of silver screen. 2009 did see me do a few long haul flights (which would be unbearable without some kind of entertainment) and saw me stuck places miles away from home with nothing to do but watch DVDs.  For those reasons I think I will see less in 2010 but I’ll dutifully keep a list and let you know this time next year .

Top 5 of 2009 (in no particular order)

  1. Juno
  2. In Bruges
  3. Atonement
  4. Let the right one in
  5. Milk

Worst/most disappointing Movies of 2009

  1. Echelon Conspiracy
  2. Road trip beer pong
  3. Southland Tales
  4. Transformers: Revenge of the fallen
  5. Dirty Sanchez

Special mention as they were better than I thought they would be/solid movies;

  1. Marie Antoinette
  2. The Proposal
  3. Counterfeiters
  4. Forgetting Sarah Marshall
  5. Taken
0 Responses to “Movies of 2009”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

