Dexter season 1, finally watched a few years behind everyone else

I finished watching the first season of Dexter and I’m already looking forward to watching the 2nd.  I’m slightly worried since 80% of the people I told I was watching Dexter replied that the 1st season was by far the best. 

I hope this doesn’t mean I’m now on a downward spiral of viewing pleasure, but there is only one way to find out.

Throughout the season the cast was strong; I particularly liked the development of the animosity between Dexter and Sgt Doakes, as well as the portrayal of the unwanted attention he receives from the Lieutenant Laguerta which demonstrated a way for Dexter, a serial killer, to feel uncomfortable from something so normal.  The supporting cast, all of whom I liked, get a good amount of screen time but the focus is predominately on the show title character Dexter, and never strays too far.

The writers managed great character development through family flash back scenes for building audience understanding of Dexter and his sister Debra, as well as reflecting office stories for the Sgt Doakes and Lt Laguerta and insights into present day issues such as the marital problems for Officer Angel.  These take place throughout the season and much like the search for the Ice truck Killer well paced with the individual stories of each of the 12 episodes.  There is still plenty room however for the characters to grow in season 2.

4 Responses to “Dexter season 1, finally watched a few years behind everyone else”


  1. 1 Jack October 22, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Seasons two and three were very good, but because you know a bit about Dexter and how he works, they don’t have the same shock impact I suppose?

    Don’t be fooled though – they rock. I need to get me some series four action.

  2. 2 Jay October 23, 2009 at 12:36 am

    Dexter is on my list of shows that I really should get into just because everyone raves about how awesome it is. The issue right now is just a matter of time to actually sit down and take it in.

  3. 3 thethoughtherder October 25, 2009 at 2:00 am

    Sweet. Good to know, I already have a copy pf season 2 I just need to find the time to get on and watch it like Jay with the first season. I’m wathcing band of brothers at the moment so I need to finish that first, only 3 episodes to go.

  4. 4 Monica March 3, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    I think you’ll love the second season; I know I did! I watched it with my DISH Network subscription and am totally addicted. The best thing about working for DISH is being in-the-know as far as new technology goes. DISH has recently released an app that lets me watch TV, live and recorded, anywhere I have internet access. Now I watch Dexter wherever I am on my smart-phone; it’s pretty awesome.


Leave a Reply

