Whale shark spotted on the high seas

I saw a huge whale shark today!

I think of all the wildlife encounters I have ever had in my life, this one tops the bill.  I have seen big animals before, and I have seen graceful animals before, but I have never seen those to two attributes presented with such beauty. 

While the boat wasn’t moving, just bobbing up and down, I was sitting at the side catching some sun when I started to see something beneath the surface of the water rising to the top. We have loads of copper head sharks by the boat all the time so I though it was one of those until I realized it was so much bigger, and it was coming closer.  I was able to make out what it was when it was a few meters down, its white spots illuminated by the sun giving it away, and it just slowly and nonchalantly came up till it was about 2 meters away from me.  

Then just passed me by.

It was 25ft in length easily and I think the fact that something so big made no sound made the whole thing even more spellbinding.

3 Responses to “Whale shark spotted on the high seas”


  1. 1 Jack October 4, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Please say this was a reference to the song Shanty Town by Mr Scruff. Alas it was not, but good nonetheless.


  1. 1 Sea snakes and ethical killing « The thoughtherder’s Blog Trackback on October 6, 2009 at 2:47 pm

Leave a Reply

