A trip away

What a difference a day makes.  Or a few in this case.

I had planned to put up another fantastic  five on Fridays list but the last few days have been pretty hectic, and have culminated with me now sitting in the floor if the airport departure lounge awaiting a flight to Australia.

I’ve never been to Australia before, and I would have thought that I would be at least a little bit excited but in all honesty I’m tired and can’t be bothered with the 15hr flight to Sydney, kicking about for a few hours then flying on to Perth.  This isn’t a leisure trip and I’m not really expecting to get anytime to do any sightseeing or adventuring so right now it just seems like a long way away.

The bottom line is that the company that I used to work for called and asked me to do some contract work (which I have before) and really the money goes a long way to feeding my snowboard habit so I couldn’t turn it down.  I don’t want to sound like I’m a slave to the money, but sometimes the sensible thing to do is not look the gift horse in the mouth and take what’s on offer.

I used to find airports really interesting and exciting places, people going all over the world on there own mini adventures, trying something new.  Now all I can think is that in airport kids can be really annoying, people when tired enough can sleep on just about anything and all the airports in North America smell the same.

4hrs of traveling down, about another 20 to go……..

2 Responses to “A trip away”


  1. 1 Jack September 20, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Seriously dude – nothing wrong with admitting money is a motivational driver. It helps you to do the things you want, so I say ‘fair play’ to you – keep up the good work and enjoy doing what you do. Nothing better than feeling good about doing your job better than anyone else can muster.

  2. 2 thethoughtherder September 22, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    Cheers, each day is ticked off with the thought that its money in the bank and the knowledge that its short term work for long term benefit. I’m now stuck with limited to no internet access, so blogging is on hold a bit. Frustating as I have time on my side to blog for once too!


Leave a Reply

