Energy drinks; Friend or foe?

A few years ago now I used to drink a lot of redbull on nights out (with a few customary shots of vodka of course) but then I kinda swore off them for a long time.  They offer no health benefit and I’m a really bad sleeper who drinks too much coffee so it seemed sensible to ‘let them go’.

Recently however I have been having the odd Monster.  It started as shattered from work but needing some energy to go out scenario, and now I am sitting on the couch thinking about the one in the fridge and that if I drink it then maybe I’ll have some enthusiasm to go for a jog or swim.

I’m I healthier sitting here not opening a can of “energy” or drinking it and going for some exercise?

Decisions,  decisions.

5 Responses to “Energy drinks; Friend or foe?”


  1. 1 Ben July 20, 2009 at 2:31 am

    I’ve done the vodka and redbull thing, I used to drink triples on nights at while I was at Uni. It makes your teeth hurt. I’ve sworn off them myself these days.

  2. 2 Ben July 20, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Replace “at” with “out” and that might make a bit more sense.

  3. 3 thethoughtherder July 20, 2009 at 5:38 am

    Yeah I know what you mean. I cant help but think about the movie “Role models” too, the drink Minatour in the film is a bit too close to Monster.

    Sore teeth, lack of sleep, issues with a statue and a tow truck are potential hazards. (If you havent seen role models then that last bit will make no sense)

  4. 4 Jack July 20, 2009 at 9:34 am

    This stuff is pure evil. It probably makes Coca-Cola blush for its comparative lack of sugar, from what I gather drinking a can or two.

    It works though.

  5. 5 thethoughtherder July 21, 2009 at 2:02 am

    So its all about the ends justifying the means in that one, will I use the energy it gives me for something that will burn off a small barrel worth of sugar?

    Probably not.

    Bakc to the expresso it is!


Leave a Reply

