Coffee, java, cup o’Joe, whatever you call it I need it

My name is thoughherder and I’ve been coffee free for 9 days.

There I put it out there.  But I’ll be honest I don’t like having to do it.

At New Years this year I decided that rather than think of something I was going to give up as a new years resolution I would come up with a selection of goals in various aspects of my life to aim for.  Kind of a what I can gain rather than give up idea, although it does involve giving stuff up its for select periods of time not life altering bans. Who likes a ban?

Travel, financial, education, health, fitness, social & random are the categories I chose and each task falls within one, it’s pretty easy when a category is entitled random to fit stuff in.  I decided that as part of it I would go 30 without drinking booze (health), the follow on from that was to think of other stuff I could give up for 30 days at a time and I decided on coffee.  Bad move. 

I have come to realize that I am too close to coffee and it all that is good about it. Some may argue that  this may be reason to move away from it and force some kind of abstinence but realistically I am never going to manage 30 days.  As I don’t drink bucket loads of the stuff, it’s not unhealthy so I am scratching that one out to being a really bad idea. 

Now pass the milk.

3 Responses to “Coffee, java, cup o’Joe, whatever you call it I need it”


  1. 1 Chase May 25, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    “Hiiii thoughtherderrrr”

    Fasting: Usually painful, but never a bad thing.

    I need to do some of that myself… probably from the internet, first of all. Sometimes, I just need to unplug, and unwind. Ya know?

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. 2 Ben May 26, 2009 at 12:55 am

    I’m with chase on the Internet thing (or should that be computers in general). Laptops make that harder of course.

    Anyway, I reckon it’s worth trying to stick to the coffee abstinence if possible. I managed 40 days without chocolate, which I never thought I would do.

  3. 3 thethoughtherder May 26, 2009 at 6:22 am

    Too late.

    I really chose a bad time to give it a try. Working long hours and not getting to sleep in my own bed meant it wasn’t going to happen. I thought the change in routine would help but it was the wrong ‘new’ routine to try it with. Maybe later in the summer.

    Unplugging from the internet for a month would probably be a good call, but at my new place I’m going as long as possible without getting TV so I may become clueless about what’s going on the world.

    Then again that could be good….


Leave a Reply

