Go West, this is what we’re gonna do…

So it looks pretty certain that I am going to up sticks and move West  across the country.  Currently I’m going through pangs of

Fantastic!  An adventure, I’m only 28 this makes perfect sense

 to

What the hell am I doing?  It was cool to go live on the mountain when you were straight outta University but now you need to be responsible, look at your career, buy a house, do grown up stuff

Well I think that Jacob (who I don’t know but writes an excellent blog) reminded me of a way I used to approach lifestyle questions such as this in his blog one year older. In this post the question is poised “what would my 21 year old self think of me now?” as I still believe in my head I am about 21 it doesn’t alter too much for me, but let’s go further….. what would 18 year old me say………..the 15 yearl old……..what about the 12 year old?

I know without thinking too hard that the answer will always be a resounding YES for the adventure.

I spent too many public holidays or maybe even just rainy weekends watching Indiana Jones battle through temples, castles, jungles and dodging flying darts, wishing that I would have those kinds of adventures when I was older to sit home and take the easy route.  Yes, it is true I am going to the pacific North West, complete with running water and electricity and not the depths of untamed wilderness but of the two lifestyle choices I could make right now it’s the one with more uncertainty and hopefully the more rewarding. 

Plus they do have bears out there, right now the closest I have to dangerous wild animals on my doorstep is a slightly agitated looking dachshund that lives in the apartment block next door.

So like the Pet Shop Boys said; Go West, this is what we’re gonna do

0 Responses to “Go West, this is what we’re gonna do…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

