Twit or twitterite?

I have now signed up for twitter.  This is because I am trying to embrace social media concepts that are out there and I seem to hear more and more people around me buzzing about it.  Other than that though I’m not sure why I have?

I’ve read this article and found it interesting on the strategies involved with twitter, but being that I have no end game to really strategize for it doesn’t answer my question as to why I have signed up.  I think the main problem I have is that having left my previous job last week I had to hand back in my crackberry and I’m now sans phone on the go, this means I can only really twitter when in front of my laptop for the next few weeks which kind of defeats the purpose. 

Don’t get me wrong I can see benefits from it, primarily that it seems to fit perfectly in place of sending out group SMS messages when trying to organize something straightforward (even a piss up in a brewery needs a start time!) and I like the idea that a quick update can let a bunch of people know when you are running late, or socially let people know (or me find out) when drinks are happening easily.

All in all I guess I will just see how it goes, I spent too long wondering whether or not I should write a blog and here I am.  This time I have just moved a little quicker in signing up for something else, we’ll see if I still am twittering in 6 months time.

2 Responses to “Twit or twitterite?”


  1. 1 Art February 25, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Hi! Found you thruogh 20 somethings. I’m contemplating twittering, but I don’t really know how to. Is it fun? Does naybody follow you or do you follow anyone?

  2. 2 thethoughtherder February 25, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Hey Art
    I’m still in the early stages of using it, but the more I speak to other people who already use it they seem to enjoy the opportunity to get instant feedback on questions and queries as the reply is limited its clear concise dialogue (140 characters). I have a few friends following me and vice versa but I’m also following 20 something bloggers and the techy section newspaper I like to keep up to speed with Blog while I’m learning the ropes.


Leave a Reply

